Welcome to Busitema University

Hello and Welcome to Busitema University, a public University in Uganda, committed to making itself a leading centre of academic excellence in the country. Busitema University is a multi-campus model public University located in Eastern Uganda, with the main campus at Busitema.  Other campuses are Nagongera, Namasagali, Arapai, Mbale, Pallisa and Kaliro.  When you join Busitema University, you will discover that you have arrived at a special place. We pride ourselves in providing high quality education based on hands-on skills that easily employ graduates globally.
Established in 2007, the University focuses on relevant and critical study programmes in Engineering, Science Education, Health Sciences, Natural Resources and Environmental Sciences, Agriculture and Animal Sciences and Management Sciences. The University offers a multitude of choices to ensure that a student follows the correct academic path according to their capabilities and aptitudes.  
We at Busitema University pride ourselves in providing high quality education based on hands-on skills that make graduates globally competitive. We have embraced a learner centered approach so as to produce graduates with problem solving skills and reflective abilities.
In addition to academics, students have opportunities to develop new relationships, many of which will last a lifetime. Leadership capacity building is prioritized so as to prepare students to play leadership roles in society. Recreational activities are also promoted.
Research efforts are being directed towards relevant knowledge production, efficient knowledge dissemination and innovation for sustainable development. In order to ensure effective and efficient transfer of knowledge, partnerships and networks are being formed with local communities, private sector, local and central governments, and non- governmental organizations. The University has a strong commitment to engage with the national agenda, and to build sustainable communities for future generations.
We are making conscious efforts to internationalize the University by establishing linkages between us and Universities all over the world. These linkages will enable us exchange staff and students, undertake collaborative research, develop joint curricula and make the University develop world class standards.  The University has also established links with professional networks, and the private sector. Our staff and students have special opportunities to obtain international experience through attending international conferences as well as paying visits to other universities outside Uganda. I warmly welcome partnerships with the University in the creation of invaluable opportunities for information sharing, collaboration and intellectual interaction.
Making a choice of Busitema University for academic or professional pursuit, partnership, or a visit is an investment one will never regret. It is my greatest pleasure to welcome all.
We pursue excellence

Model and Location

Busitema University is a multi campus model with the main campus located at Busitema, formally the National College of Agricultural Mechanization, along Jinja- Tororo highway, 25kms South West of Tororo Municipality, while the Nagongera campus is located along Nagongera- Busolwe road, about 21kms from Tororo Municipality. Arapai campus is located along Moroto road, about 10kms from Soroti Town, and Namasagali campus is located along Namasagali road, about 27kms from Kamuli Town.  Other campuses (yet to be operational) are located at Mbale (School of Hygiene and School of Clinical officers premises), (Kaliro NTC premises), and Pallisa.

We are going to greater heights, find out why you choose to study at BU

University Events

Lastest News

Provisional Admission List 2015/2016................. read more

Call for UMA - HEST Internship.................. read more

Special Entry Examination list 2015-2016................. read more

Government admission list 2015-2016................. read more

Direct entry Admission 2015-2016................. read more

Advert 2015-2016 Diploma Scheme.................... read more

MEPI Visit to MESAU hosted by Busitema University............... read more

JICA Irrigation Expert to Train Masters Students....................... read more

Call for Applications for Sponsorship to Participate as...................... read more


Visit our Faculties

Faculty of Engineering Busitema

...Info needed here......


Faculty of Science and Education

...Info needed here......


Faculty of Health Science Mbale

...Info needed here......


Faculty of Agriculture and Animal Husbandry

...Info needed here.......